Svādhyāya – Study of the self/Self

“Knowing others is intelligence; knowing yourself is true wisdom. Mastering others is strength; mastering yourself is true power.” - Lao Tzu It is time to dig a little deeper into the process of getting to know our inner landscape - mental, emotional and spiritual aspects of ourselves. This process, an inward journey, is central to …

Continue reading Svādhyāya – Study of the self/Self


Brahmacharya is much more than the popular notion of celibacy. While celibacy is a must for those choosing the life of monk and svāmihood, the rest who partake the sensory world, will certainly appreciate a simpler explanation of Brahmacharya. Living in a society permeated with pleasure, the principle of Brahmacharya presents a ground rule towards …

Continue reading Brahmacharya

Yama and Niyama

What constitutes, Raja Yoga, is listed in the second chapter, Sādhana Pāda in the YogaSutra. Sādhana Pāda means laying out the practical hints so a seeker can actually practice to make any progress on the yogic path. यमनियमासनप्राणायामप्रत्याहारधारणाध्यानसमाधयोऽष्टावङ्गानि॥२.२९ Yama-niyama-āsana-prāṇāyāma-pratyāhāra-dhāraṇā-dhyāna-samādhayo'ṣṭāvaṅgāni||29||According to this sutra the eight limbs, aṣṭāṅga are: Yama, Niyama, Āsana, Prānayāma, Pratyāhāra, Dhārana, Dhyāna and Samādhi. This post is only an introduction …

Continue reading Yama and Niyama